Riga Cathedral Boys Choir on Good Friday

Ilze Grēvele-Skaraine, soprano
Ieva Parša, mezzo-soprano
Riga Cathedral Boys Choir
Conductor Mārtiņš Klišāns
Marta Spārniņa, violin
Ieva Saliete, positive organ
Raimonds Melderis, violin
Ēriks Kiršfelds, cello
Pēteris Trasuns, viola
Oskars Bokanovs, double bass

Giovanni Battista Pergolesi “Stabat Mater”
Fr. Durante “Concerto for Strings No. 2 in G minor”

The famous opus “Stabat mater” by Giovanni Battista Pergolesi and the Concerto for Strings No. 2 in G minor” by the Italian baroque composer Francesco Durante will be played in the Dzintari Concert Hall on Good Friday, March 29. The concert will be performed by soprano Ilze Grēvele-Skaraine, mezzo-soprano Ieva Parša, the Riga Cathedral Boys’ Choir led by conductor Mārtiņš Klišāns, as well as the instrumental ensemble – Marta Spārniņa and Raimonds Melderis (violins), Pēteris Trasuns (viola), Ēriks Kiršfelds (cello), Ieva Saliete (positive organ) and Oskars Bokanovs (double bass).

On Good Friday, the Christian world turns to the time of Christ’s suffering, contemplating how deep and poignant the mystery of Christ’s suffering was, which at the same time became the greatest promise of mercy and a declaration of love for all believers.

“Stabat mater” by the Italian baroque composer Giovanni Battista Pergolesi is probably the most well-known and most frequently played musical realization of the story of Christ’s suffering. Pergolesi composed this piece in a Franciscan monastery near Naples as a requiem for himself, and it is the late composer’s final opus.

Pergolesi’s “Stabat Mater” was an extremely innovative composition for its time, because until then no composer had dared to reveal the sacred content in music in such an expressive and personal way, inspired by the source of eternal love above himself. Pergolesi brought this story of suffering to life with operatic virtuoso singing and emotional lamentations.

The 18th century philosopher Jean-Jacques Rousseau described the introduction to the piece as “the most touching duet ever written”.

To many contemporaries, Pergolesi’s “Stabat Mater” seemed too operatic, but perhaps that is precisely why Pergolesi’s masterpiece has become one of the most beloved sacred works of listeners to this day.

The 18th century Italian baroque composer Francesco Durante was a highly valued harmony master and teacher – Pergolesi also studied with him. In the composer’s Second Concerto for Strings, baroque polyphony alternates with the charming gestures of the gallant style of the 18th century.

Ilze Grēvele-Skaraine, a brilliant soprano of the new generation, who specializes in baroque music and has performed in many early music concerts and opera performances in Latvia and abroad, will perform at the concert. Ilze Grēvele-Skaraine is a nominee of the Latvian Grand Music Prize 2019 and the winner of the competition “Inese Galante’s Talents 2018”.

The mezzo-soprano part will be performed by one of the most sought-after and versatile concert singers, Ieva Parša, who has performed various roles on the stage of the Latvian National Opera and regularly participates in the performances of vocal-instrumental works with Latvian professional orchestras and choirs.

Approximate concert duration: 60 minutes