Kremerata Baltica Festival. Gidon Kremer and Georgijs Osokins

Gidon Kremer, violin
Georgijs Osokins, piano
Olli Mustonen, pianist and conductor
Magdalena Ceple, cello
Madara Pētersone, violin
Kremerata Baltica

In 1997, the legendary Austrian Lockenhaus Chamber Music Festival was the first witness to a small revolution: the well-known, outstanding violinist Gidons Krēmers introduced a brand new orchestra – the Kremerata Baltica Chamber Orchestra – comprising musicians from the Baltic states: Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia. With its rich sound, as well as energetic and joyful playing, the orchestra won the hearts of the sophisticated audience and brought a completely different kind of life to the festival.

Kremerata Baltica, a long-term educational project, was the 50th birthday present of Krēmers to himself. It is a way for the great man to pass on his wisdom to young musicians and, without compromising on artistic or professional standards, inspire them to contribute to the musical development of the region. During its existence, this group of talented musicians has developed into one of the finest international chamber orchestras in the world and has secured an excellent reputation for itself, regularly performing in the world’s most important concert halls with the finest musicians.


Valentin Silvestrov (Валенти́н Сильве́стров,1937)
‘‘Tribute to J.S.B.’’ for violin and piano
I. Andantino
II. Andantino
III. Allegro
Gidon Kremer and Georgijs Osokins

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)
Chaconne in D Minor, BWV 1004, transcribed by Ferruccio Busoni
Georgijs Osokins

Jēkabs Jančevskis (1992)
‘‘Meditation to the Light”, J. Jančevskis arrangement for violin and orchestra
Gidon Kremer and Kremerata Baltica

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714–1788)
Cello Concerto in A Major H. 439
I. Allegro
II. Largo con sordini, mesto
III. Allegro assai
Magdalēna Ceple un Kremerata Baltica


Alfred Schnittke (Альфред Шнитке, 1934–1998)
‘‘Moz-Art a la Haydn’’ for two violins and orchestra
Madara Pētersone, Gidon Kremer and Kremerata Baltica

Olli Mustonen (1967)
I. Misterioso
II. Furioso
III. Ad astra
Kremerata Baltica and Olli Mustonen

Johann Sebastian Bach
Concerto no.1 in D Minor BWV 1052
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Allegro
Olli Mustonen and Kremerata Baltica